• Top List

Women’s Ballon d’Or points standings in full as Putellas wins her first title

Alexia Putellas, Ballon d'Or
Getty Images

The full points table and final classification for the 2021 Ballon d’Or have been unveiled after Alexia Putellas won her first title.


Barcelona and Spain midfielder Alexia Putellas has won the 2021 women’s Ballon d’Or award.

The 27-year-old was Europe’s highest-scoring midfielder last season with 26 goals in all competitions. Her performances played a key role behind Barcelona’s treble success by winning the Spanish league, Queen’s Cup, and the Champions League.

As a result, France Football crowned Putellas as the 2021 Ballon d’Or winner in a gala in Paris on Monday evening. She claimed 186 points in the final rankings, 102 points clear of her second-placed Barcelona teammate Jennifer Hermoso. Chelsea forward Sam Kerr completed the top three on 46 points.


Putellas is also the first Spanish Ballon d’Or winner since former Barcelona and Inter Milan men’s midfielder Luis Suarez back in 1960.

Women’s Ballon d’Or final standings 2021

1.Alexia Putellas🇪🇸FC Barcelona186
2.Jennifer Hermoso🇪🇸FC Barcelona84
3.Samantha Kerr🇦🇺Chelsea46
4.Vivianne Miedema🇳🇱Arsenal46
5.Lieke Martens🇳🇱FC Barcelona40
6.Christine Sinclair🇨🇦Thorns FC36
7.Pernille Harder🇩🇰Chelsea33
8.Ashley Lawrence🇨🇦PSG26
9.Jessie Fleming🇨🇦Chelsea25
10.Francesca Kirby🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿Chelsea22
11.Magdalena Eriksson🇸🇪Chelsea20
12.Christiane Endler🇨🇱PSG19
13.Stina Blackstenius🇸🇪BK Häcken10
14.Samantha Mewis🇺🇸Manchester City8
15.Irene Paredes🇪🇸FC Barcelona8
16.Ellen White🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿Manchester City4
17.Kadidiatou Diani🇫🇷PSG3
18.Marie-Antoinette Katoto🇫🇷PSG3
19.Sandra Panos🇪🇸FC Barcelona3
20.Wendie Renard🇫🇷Lyon2

Who has previously won the award?

Norway striker Ada Hegerberg claimed the first edition of the women’s Ballon d’Or in 2018. USA forward Megan Rapinoe won it a year later. However, France Football canceled the 2020 award because the COVID-19 pandemic disrupted the season.


 How were the points decided?

France Football had each nation represented in the voting by the national team’s manager, captain, and a nominated sports journalist. They would name the five best players using the following points system:

  • 1st – 6 points
  • 2nd – 4 points
  • 3rd – 3 points
  • 4th – 2 points
  • 5th – 1 point

Elsewhere, in the men’s Ballon d’Or edition, Barcelona legend Lionel Messi won the award for the seventh time. Pedri also won the Kopa Trophy to cap off an incredible evening on the club’s 122nd anniversary.