• Top lists

​​2021 Ballon d’Or points standings in full as Messi wins record seventh title

Lionel Messi, Ballon d'Or
Getty Images

The full points table and final classification for the 2021 Ballon d’Or have been unveiled after Lionel Messi’s record seventh title.

Lionel Messi has won the 2021 Ballon d’Or award after another record-breaking year.

France Football, the outlet which hands out the award, declared Messi as the best men’s footballer in the world in a gala in Paris on Monday night for the seventh time in his career.

The 34-year-old, who joined Paris Saint-Germain on a free transfer from Barcelona in the summer, finished on 613 points in the final rankings.

Just 33 points behind in second place was Robert Lewandowski. The Bayern Munich striker had another prolific campaign for club and country, resulting in a superb 580 points from the voting polls.

Chelsea midfielder Jorginho, who won the Champions League and Euro 2020, rounded off the top three on 460 points.

Men’s Ballon d’Or final standings 2021

1.Lionel Messi🇦🇷PSG/Barcelona613
2.Robert Lewandowski🇵🇱Bayern Munich580
4.Karim Benzema🇫🇷Real Madrid239
5.N’Golo Kante🇫🇷Chelsea186
6.Cristiano Ronaldo🇵🇹Man United/Juventus178
7.Mohamed Salah🇪🇬Liverpool121
8.Kevin De Bruyne🇧🇪Manchester City73
9.Kylian Mbappe🇫🇷PSG58
10.Gianluigi Donnarumma🇮🇹PSG/AC Milan36
11.Erling Haaland🇳🇴Dortmund33
12.Romelu Lukaku🇧🇪Chelsea26
13.Giorgio Chiellini🇮🇹Juventus26
14.Leonardo Bonucci🇮🇹Juventus18
15.Raheem Sterling🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿Manchester City10
17.Luis Suarez🇺🇾Atletico Madrid8
18.Simon Kjaer🇩🇰AC Milan8
19.Mason Mount🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿Chelsea7
20.Riyad Mahrez🇩🇿Manchester City7
21.Bruno Fernandes🇵🇹Manchester United6
21=Lautaro Martinez🇦🇷Inter Milan6
23.Harry Kane🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿Tottenham4
24.Pedri🇪🇸FC Barcelona3
25.Phil Foden🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿Manchester City2
26.Nicolo Barella🇮🇹Inter Milan1
26=Ruben Dias🇵🇹Manchester City1
26=Gerard Moreno🇪🇸Villarreal1
29.Cesar Azpilicueta🇪🇸Chelsea0
29=Luka Modric🇭🇷Real Madrid0

How were the points decided?

France Football had each nation represented in the voting by the national team’s manager, captain, and a nominated sports journalist. They would name the five best players using the following points system:

  • 1st – 6 points
  • 2nd – 4 points
  • 3rd – 3 points
  • 4th – 2 points
  • 5th – 1 point