• Top lists

Top 5 Attacking Trios in Football History

George Best, Denis Law, and Bobby Charlton
"The United Trinity, George Best, Denis Law and Bobby Charlton" by apasciuto is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

Let’s take a look at some of the most legendary attacking partnerships in football history.

Football is a sport that requires a team effort, but sometimes, there are attacking trios that can completely change the outcome of a game. These trios are often talked about for years to come and can even go down in history as some of the best. Here are the top 5 attacking trios in football history.

5 – Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

During their time at Real Madrid, Bale, Ronaldo, and Benzema were one of the deadliest attacking trios in football history. With their pace, power, and precision, they scored an incredible 295 goals in just three seasons together. They won three consecutive Champions League titles and helped Real Madrid dominate European football.

4 – Paco Gento, Alfredo Di Stefano, and Ferenc Puskás (Real Madrid)

In the 1950s and 1960s, Real Madrid dominated European football with their legendary attacking trio of Gento, Di Stefano, and Puskás. They won five consecutive European Cups and scored a total of 901 goals between them. Their unique combination of skill, speed, and teamwork made them a force to be reckoned with.

3 – George Best, Denis Law, and Bobby Charlton (Manchester United)

In the late 1960s, Manchester United had one of the most iconic attacking trios in football history. Best, Law, and Charlton were the heart and soul of the team, leading them to European Cup success in 1968. Their individual skills complemented each other perfectly, and they scored a total of 665 goals together.

2 – Lionel Messi, Neymar, and Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

Between 2014 and 2017, Barcelona’s MSN trio of Messi, Neymar, and Suarez was the most feared attacking force in world football. With their incredible dribbling, passing, and finishing abilities, they scored an astonishing 364 goals together. They won two La Liga titles and a Champions League trophy, cementing their place in football history.

1 – Ronaldo, Rivaldo, and Ronaldinho (Brazil)

In the early 2000s, Brazil had one of the most talented attacking trios ever assembled. Ronaldo, Rivaldo, and Ronaldinho were three of the greatest players of their generation, and their combination of skill, flair, and creativity was truly mesmerizing. They won the 2002 World Cup, scoring a total of 15 goals between them and cementing their place as one of the greatest attacking trios in football history.