• Top lists

Top 10 Great Players Without a League Title

Harry Kane at Tottenham
© Ace Football

This article unveils the top 10 legendary players who, despite their remarkable skills and achievements, never clinched a league championship.

10. Gaizka Mendieta

Gaizka Mendieta, recognized as one of the world’s best midfielders in the late 1990s and early 2000s, played for Valencia, Lazio, and Barcelona but never won a league title. His career included two UEFA Best Midfielder awards and two Champions League final appearances with Valencia. Despite his individual brilliance, Mendieta’s teams often fell just short of winning the national championship.

9. Roman Pavlyuchenko

Both Roman Pavlyuchenko was a top forward for the Russian national team and in the Russian Premier League and English Premier League at Tottenham. Pavlyuchenko had chances to win the title with Spartak Moscow and other Russian clubs but despite his goal-scoring prowess, he was not able to help his teams to secure a league championship.

8. Marco Reus

Marco Reus, once named the Bundesliga’s Breakthrough Player of the Year while playing for Borussia Mönchengladbach, missed out on league titles with both Mönchengladbach and Borussia Dortmund. Despite his individual success and Dortmund’s competitive performances, Reus has not been able to secure a Bundesliga title, with the team often finishing second or third.

7. Daniele De Rossi

World Cup champion Daniele De Rossi spent the majority of his career with AS Roma, where he became a club legend. Despite his success with the Italian national team and a storied career at Roma, De Rossi never won a Serie A title. He came close on several occasions, with Roma frequently finishing as runners-up during his tenure.

6. Ciro Immobile

Ciro Immobile, a prolific scorer for Lazio, has had a successful career with individual honors, including the European Golden Shoe. However, he has not been able to lead Lazio to a Serie A title, with the club often finishing just behind the champions during his time there.

5. Harry Lineker

Gary Lineker, a top player in the 1980s and 1990s, never won the English or Spanish league title. He had successful spells with Leicester City, Everton, Barcelona, and Tottenham Hotspur, earning individual accolades and leading scorer awards. However, league titles eluded him throughout his career.

4. Son Heung-min

Son Heung-min, the South Korean star of Tottenham Hotspur, has been an exceptional player in the Premier League but has not won the title. Despite his individual success and Tottenham’s competitive performances, the league championship has remained out of reach.

3. Harry Kane

Despite being the second-highest scorer in Premier League history and having numerous individual accolades, Harry Kane has never won the Premier League title with Tottenham. His career includes six entries into the Premier League Team of the Year, three English Golden Boots, and six seasons with 20+ goals. However, his time at Tottenham has not yielded league gold, and even with his current stint at Bayern Munich, he risks missing out on the championship title.

2. Fernando Torres

Fernando Torres achieved international success with Spain and won major European club trophies, but he never captured a league title in Spain or England. His time at Atletico Madrid, Liverpool, and Chelsea saw near misses, but ultimately, he did not add a national league winner’s medal to his collection.

1. Steven Gerrard

Steven Gerrard is synonymous with Liverpool FC, where he spent his entire club career. Despite his legendary status and numerous cup victories, he never won the Premier League title. Gerrard came close on several occasions, with memorable “slippery” misses that have become part of football folklore.