• Top news

Premier League announce Player, Manager & Goal of the Month for September

Premier League
Getty Images

The Premier League awards for the best player, manager, and goal have been announced for the month of September 2021.

Player of the Month – Cristiano Ronaldo

First came Manchester United’s Player of the Month award, now Cristiano Ronaldo has made it two for two in September.

The Portuguese ace won the Premier League’s Player of the Month for the fifth time in his career following a superb return at Old Trafford. He scored three goals in as many games in September. Two of them came on his debut against Newcastle at Old Trafford. He then added a crucial equalizer to spur United on to a 2-1 comeback win over West Ham.

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea), Ismaila Sarr (Watford), Allan Saint-Maximin (Newcastle), and Joao Cancelo (Manchester City) were also in the mix for the big prize.

Manager of the Month – Mikel Arteta

Arsenal boss Mikel Arteta has won the Premier League’s Manager of the Month award for the first time in his career.

The 39-year-old guided Arsenal back from the brink of disaster in September. Three successive defeats in their opening games left them bottom of the standings. However, the Gunners recovered in style to win all three of their fixtures last month, including a fabulous 3-1 victory over Tottenham in the north London derby.

Arteta beat fellow nominees Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Graham Potter (Brighton), and Dean Smith (Aston Villa) to win Manager of the Month.

Goal of the Month – Andros Townsend

Capping off the Premier League monthly awards is Andros Townsend following his worldie strike in Everton’s 3-1 win over Burnley.

The midfielder launched a rasping strike from a distance. Burnley keeper Nick Pope was helpless, as the ball went into the top corner. Therefore, as Michael Keane canceled out Ben Mee’s opener, Everton’s comeback was complete. The Blues added a third to seal the win.

Townsend beat Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United 4-1 Newcastle), Jesse Lingard (two – Manchester United 4-1 Newcastle and West Ham 1-2 Manchester United), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea 3-0 Aston Villa), Naby Keita (Liverpool 3-0 Crystal Palace), and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal 3-1 Tottenham) for the award.