• News

PFA Player and Young Player of the Year announced

Premier League
Getty Images

The winners for the 2021 PFA Player and Young Player of the Year awards have been announced for the men’s and women’s editions.

Men’s Player of the Year – Kevin De Bruyne

The Belgian ace has become only the third Premier League player to win the PFA Players’ Player of the Year for two consecutive seasons after Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo.

De Bruyne fended off stiff competition from Manchester City teammates Ilkay Gundogan, Phil Foden, and Premier League Player of the Year Ruben Dias to win the prize. Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United) and Harry Kane (Tottenham) were also in contention.

The other nominees

  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United).
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham).
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City).
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City).
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City).

Women’s Player of the Year – Fran Kirby

The record goalscorer of the Chelsea women’s team has joined De Bruyne in becoming a two-time PFA Player of the Year winner.

Kirby also won the Footballer Writers’ Association Women’s Footballer of the Year award last week after leading Chelsea to another Super League title and to the final of the Women’s Champions League.

The other nominees

  • Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea).
  • Chloe Kelly (Manchester City).
  • Lauren Hemp (Manchester City).
  • Sam Kerr (Chelsea).
  • Samantha Mewis (Manchester City).

Men’s Young Player of the Year – Phil Foden

Phil Foden bagged his second award in as many days on Sunday after winning the Premier League’s Young Player of the Year on Saturday.

2020/21 was arguably the Manchester City midfielder’s most impressive campaign yet. His performances earned him widespread praise and allowed him to beat the likes of Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka and Chelsea’s Mason Mount to the men’s PFA Young Player of the Year award.

The other nominees

  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal).
  • Declan Rice (West Ham).
  • Mason Greenwood (Manchester United).
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea).
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool).

Women’s Young Player of the Year – Lauren Hemp

Rounding off proceedings is Lauren Hemp, who has won the PFA Women’s Player of the Year for a record third time. She previously won the award in the 2019/20 and 2017/18 seasons.

The Manchester City forward overcame early season injury problems to enjoy another prolific campaign and beat teammates Chloe Kelly and Sam Mewis to another individual prize.

The other nominees

  • Ebony Salmon (Racing Louisville).
  • Ella Toone (Manchester United).
  • Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City).
  • Lauren James (Manchester United).
  • Niamh Charles (Chelsea).