• Top News

Premier League announce Player, Manager, Goal and Young Player of the Season

Premier League Player of the Year
Getty Images

The end-of-season Premier League awards for the best player, manager, goal, and young player have been announced for the 2020/21 campaign.

Player of the Season – Ruben Dias

The Portuguese ace has completed the double by winning the Premier League Player of the Season and the Football Writers’ Association award.

Dias fended off stiff competition from City teammate Kevin De Bruyne, who won the award last season, and Tottenham striker Harry Kane, who claimed the Golden Boot and Playmaker prizes.

The 24-year-old is only the fourth defender to win the Premier League Player of the season after Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), and Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool).

Player of the Season nominees

  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City).
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City).
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United).
  • Jack Grealish (Aston Villa).
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham).
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool).
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea).
  • Tomas Soucek (West Ham).

Manager of the Season – Pep Guardiola

The Catalan won a third Premier League title in four seasons and a fifth crown overall for Manchester City to beat the likes of Brendan Rodgers and Marcelo Bielsa for the Manager of the Season.

Despite sitting in the lower half of the table at one stage, Guardiola led City to an inspired comeback. The Citizens eventually finished 12 points ahead of runners-up Manchester United.

City also scored the most league goals (83) and conceded the least goals (32) in 2020/21.

Manager of the Season nominees

  • David Moyes (West Ham).
  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City).
  • Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United).
  • Brendan Rodgers (Leicester City).
  • Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (Manchester United).

Goal of the Season – Erik Lamela

 Erik Lamela’s insane ‘rabona’ goal in a north London derby in March won the Goal of the Season award.

The Tottenham star, who replaced an injured Son Heung-min, curved a superb ‘rabona’ finish past Arsenal keeper Bernd Leno to open the scoreline.

The Gunners may have recovered to steal a brilliant 2-1 derby win, but Lamela scored top points for his brilliant goal.

Goal of the Season nominees

  • Erik Lamela (Tottenaham).
  • Manuel Lanzini (West Ham).
  • Edinson Cavani (Manchester United).
  • Sebastian Haller (West Ham).
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United).
  • James Maddison (Leicester City).
  • Jesse Lingard (West Ham).
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool).
  • Ola Aina (Fulham).

Young Player of the Season – Phil Foden

Rounding off the Premier League awards is Manchester City midfielder Phil Foden.

The 21-year-old has won the Young of Player of the Season award after helping City win a fifth Premier League title. He even finished ahead of Citizens teammate Ruben Dias, who won the Player of the Season prize.

2020/21 was arguably Foden’s most impressive campaign yet with the Englishman supplying nine goals and five assists in 28 appearances.

Young Player of the Season nominees

  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City).
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea).
  • Declan Rice (West Ham).
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal).
  • Marcus Rashford (Manchester United).
  • Illan Meslier (Leeds United).
  • Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton).