• Top news

FIFA announces Puskas Award nominees for 2021

Getty Images

FIFA has disclosed the list of all the players who are deemed fit to compete for the goal of the year award for 2021.

FIFA has given out the names of the players for the Puskas Award 2021, which will determine the best goal that was scored during the course of this year.

This honourary individual award has been rewarded to many great players over the years with the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah, and Zlatan Ibrahimovic included. The winner of this prestigious trophy last time out was Tottenham’s, Heung-min Son.

During this year, many noteworthy goals have been scored by various performers from different competitions across the world. So, let’s take a look at the athletes who could win the Puskas Award for 2021.

Luiz DiazBrazil vs ColombiaJune 23, 2021
Gauthier HeinChamois Niortais FC vs AJ AuxerreApril 10, 2021
Erik LamelaArsenal vs TottenhamMarch 14, 2021
Valentino LazaroBayer 04 Leverkusen vs B MonchengladbachNovember 8, 2020
Riyad MahrezZimbabwe vs AlgeriaNovember 16, 2020
Sandra Owusu-AnsahKumasi Sports Academy Ladies FC vs Supreme Ladies FCMay 8, 2021
Vangelis PavlidisWillem II vs Fortuna SittardMay 16, 2021
Daniela SanchezQueretaro FC vs Atletico de San Luis January 16, 2021
Patrik SchickCzech Republic vs ScotlandJune 14, 2021
Mehdi TaremiChelsea vs PortoApril 13, 2021
Caroline WeirManchester City WFC vs Manchester United WFCFebruary 12, 2021

Voting for this award can be done on FIFA’s official website, and it will be closed at midnight on December 10, 2021. Whereas, the winners of all the FIFA awards will be announced at an online ceremony on January 17 next year.