• News

England: Brentford star handed maiden call-up as Sancho misses out again

Jadon Sancho
Getty Images

The Three Lions have announced their squad for the upcoming September friendlies.

Gareth Southgate has dropped Jadon Sancho from his England squad for the fourth time in a row.

The England boss has, however, called up Ivan Toney, who has enjoyed top form at Brentford recently.

The 26-year-old striker has scored five goals in his six Premier League appearances so far this season. 

It is unlikely that England would play with two forwards. However, Toney has a solid chance to play as Harry Kane’s backup in the upcoming World Cup.

Southgate’s team have no shortage of talented forwards. The English manager has included Jack Grealish in his squad despite his poor start to the new season.

However, Sancho‘s improved form at Manchester United hasn’t convinced Southgate to re-call him to his squad. 

The former Borussia Dortmund star has struggled to secure a spot in the national team since arriving at Old Trafford. But his current form under Erik ten Hag might persuade Southgate to include him in the Three Lions’ lineup for the World Cup.

England will face Italy and Germany in two UEFA Nations League matches later this month.

All you need in a VPN — and more

England squad in full

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Nottingham Forest, loan from Manchester United), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Everton, loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (AS Roma), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham United), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Ivan Toney (Brentford).