• News

Arsenal star named England Men’s Player of the Year

Saka, England
Getty Images

A team of promising stars took the Three Lions to the European Championship final last summer.

Bukayo Saka has won England’s Player of the Year award, beating Declan Rice and Harry Kane.

Saka missed a crucial penalty that saw England miss out on the Euro 2020 title at Wembley. However, he bounced back from the harrowing experience to establish himself as one of the Premier League’s best forwards.

The Gunners winger played in every single game for Mikel Arteta’s side last season as they finished fifth in the league.

Saka’s performances have also secured him a regular spot in England’s lineup. The 21-year-old has starred in nine matches for the Three Lions since last September, scoring three goals and two assists.

Go further with the #1 trusted leader in VPN

“No way,” Saka said after receiving the prize. “I did not expect this, honestly, so yeah, I’m honoured. It’s really nice.

“I’m so happy. I can’t put into words how happy I am. It’s really nice to be awarded this trophy.”

Saka becomes the youngest player ever to win the award. He’s also the first Arsenal star to claim the prize since 2003. 

England hope to bounce back from their humiliating defeat against Hungary when they meet Italy on Friday. The Three Lions will then host Germany in their last pre-World Cup friendly three days later.