• World Cup 2022

Adidas issue statement on Fernandes-Ronaldo goal controversy

Bruno Fernandes, Cristiano Ronaldo
Getty Images

Ronaldo claimed he got a touch on Fernandes’ cross on Monday for a goal that would’ve seen him equal Portugal legend Eusebio’s record of nine World Cup goals.

Adidas Ball Technology has ruled out the possibility that Cristiano Ronaldo scored in Portugal’s 2-0 World Cup win over Uruguay.

The World Cup’s official ball supplier claims Ronaldo didn’t touch the ball that Bruno Fernandes had curled into the box; thus awarding Portugal’s first goal of the game to the latter.

The Manchester United midfielder also scored the team’s second goal by putting away an injury-time penalty.

“Using the Connected Ball Technology housed in Adidas’s Al Rihla Official Match Ball, we are able to definitively show no contact on the ball from Cristiano Ronaldo for the opening goal in the game,” read an Adidas statement.

“No external force on the ball could be measured.

“The 500Hz IMU sensor inside the ball allows for a high level of accuracy in the analysis.”

Adidas made this announcement after Piers Morgan claimed Ronaldo had told him that he made contact with the ball. The Portugal captain was also seen on camera gesturing to his head after the final whistle.

Even Fernandes, the scorer of both goals, admitted he thought Ronaldo touched his cross for the team’s first goal. Nevertheless, with three more points in the bag, Portugal are through to the last 16 of the World Cup. They’ll play South Korea next on Friday for their final Group H game.