• News

16 cities to host matches in the 2026 FIFA World Cup

CAF, World Cup
Getty Images

The 2026 FIFA World Cup will be spread across the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

FIFA has announced a stellar line-up of 16 host cities for the 2026 World Cup.

The 23rd edition of the world’s most prestigious football tournament will feature 48 teams and three host countries – the United States, Canada, and Mexico – for the first time in history.

The United States will host 60 matches of the 2026 World Cup. Canada and Mexico will play to host 10 games each.

Which cities will host the matches?

🇺🇸 United States: Atlanta, Boston, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Miami, New York/New Jersey, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Seattle.

🇲🇽 Mexico: Guadalajara, Monterrey, Mexico City.

🇨🇦 Canada: Toronto, Vancouver.

‘Today is a historic day’

“We congratulate the 16 FIFA World Cup host cities on their outstanding commitment and passion,” read a statement from FIFA president Gianni Infantino.

“Today is a historic day – for everyone in those cities and states, for FIFA, for Canada, the USA and Mexico who will put on the greatest show on Earth. We look forward to working together with them to deliver what will be an unprecedented FIFA World Cup and a game-changer as we strive to make football truly global.”

As for this year’s tournament, 32 teams will compete in Qatar  from November 21, 2022, to December 18, 2022. To see the full list of qualified teams and group tables, check out the link here.