• World Cup 2022

Wojciech Szczesny lost a €100 World Cup bet with Lionel Messi

Wojciech Szczesny, Juventus
Getty Images

Despite saving a penalty from Messi in the Poland-Argentina game, Szczesny didn’t have all the luck it seems.

Poland goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny has said he lost a €100 bet with Argentina captain Lionel Messi.

In the 38th minute of Wednesday’s Group C finale between Poland and Argentina, the latter won a penalty after the referee, Danny Makkelie, decided Szczesny’s outstretched arm made contact with Messi’s head upon reviewing an incident between the goalkeeper and forward with VAR.

The scoreline was 0-0 at the time and remained that way after Szczesny saved Messi’s spot-kick. By doing so, he became the first keeper to save two penalties at a World Cup since Brad Friedel (USA – 2002) and Jan Tomaszewski (Poland – 1974).

However, moments before his famous save, Szczesny was so convinced Argentina wouldn’t get a penalty that he made a daring bet with Messi.

“We spoke before the penalty and I told would bet him €100 that he [the referee] wasn’t going to give it,” Szczesny told TV2. “So I’ve lost a bet against Messi.

“I don’t know if that’s allowed at the World Cup — I’m probably going to get banned for it! But I don’t care right now. I’m not going to pay him either — he doesn’t care about €100, I think he has enough [money].”

Szczesny previously saved a penalty in Poland’s 2-0 win over Saudi Arabia last Saturday.

Despite the Juventus man’s save, Poland ended up on the wrong end of the scoresheet. The Eagles lost 2-0 to Argentina after second-half goals from Mac Allister and Julian Alvarez. The defeat cost them the top spot in Group C, but they held on for the second knockout spot by edging Mexico on goal difference.

Poland will next face 2018 World Cup winners France in the last 16 stage on Sunday.