• News

Which teams qualified for the UEFA Nations League finals?

UEFA Nations League Trophy
Getty Images

The four remaining contestants for next summer’s UEFA Nations League finals are set.

Spain became the fourth team to qualify for the UEFA Nations League finals on Tuesday after Croatia, Italy, and the Netherlands.

The semi-finals will take place from June 14-15 in 2023. The final and third-place playoff will follow three days later on June 18. UEFA will announce the host nation for the Nations League finals in January.

How did they qualify for the UEFA Nations League finals?

🇭🇷 Croatia

The Croatians pipped Denmark by a single point to win Group A1 after two second-half goals from Marko Livaja and Dejan Lovren sealed a decisive 3-1 win over Austria in their final group match.

Despite scoring just a single point in their first two group games, a four-match winning streak saw the 2018 World Cup finalists climb all the way to the top of the Group A1 table.

🇪🇸 Spain

Just when all hope appeared lost, Alvaro Morata scored an 88th-minute winner against Portugal to send Spain through to the final four. The 1-0 final day victory enabled La Roja to leapfrog the 2019 Nations League winners to the top of Group A2 by one point after six matches.

The 2021-22 Nations League finalists recovered from a slow start to win three of their four remaining group games.

🇮🇹 Italy

The Euro 2020 champions arguably won the toughest group in the Nations League. Italy edged Hungary, Germany, and England to win Group A3. They can now go into next summer with a realistic shot of more European glory.

A 2-0 win at Hungary on Monday sealed Italy’s place in the final four. It had been a bit of an up and down Group A3 campaign, but Roberto Mancini’s men got the job done with back-to-back victories in September.

🇳🇱 Netherlands

Out of the four qualifying nations, the Netherlands were the only team to finish unbeaten. The Oranje won Group A4 by a convincing six-point margin over Belgium after winning their final three games.

The 2018-19 Nations League finalists won five of their six group games in total. A 2-2 home draw against Poland last June was the only time Louis van Gaal’s side dropped any points. They wrapped up their group campaign by beating Belgium 1-0 in Amsterdam.