• Top lists

Which Clubs have most Ballon d’Or winners?

Ballon d'Or
"Ballon d'Or" by loli jackson is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Let’s check out the football clubs with the highest number of Ballon d’Or winners.

The Ballon d’Or is football’s most prestigious individual award, celebrating excellence on the field year after year. 

As the footballing world eagerly awaits the next recipient of this coveted accolade, it’s worth taking a moment to reflect on the clubs that have consistently produced the winners of the Ballon d’Or. 

Here are the five clubs with the most Ballon d’Or winners.

Bayern Munich (5)

Bayern Munich, one of Germany and Europe’s most successful clubs, has clinched the Bundesliga title numerous times and secured five UEFA Champions League titles. Three players have earned a total of five Ballon d’Or titles while representing the Bavarian giants. Gerd Muller claimed the honour once, while Franz Beckenbauer and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge each secured it twice. However, Bayern has not produced a winner since Rummenigge’s second triumph in 1981.

AC Milan (8)

As one of Italy’s most decorated clubs, AC Milan have clinched the Champions League title an impressive seven times and secured Serie A glory 18 times. Unsurprisingly, the Rossoneri have also produced a slew of Ballon d’Or winners. Six players have earned a total of eight awards while playing for Milan. Marco van Basten leads the charge with three wins, with Kaka being the last Milan player to claim the accolade in 2007.

Juventus (8)

Juventus boasts a staggering 36 Serie A titles and has reached the Champions League final nine times, securing victory on two occasions. The Bianconeri have been a breeding ground for world-class talent, resulting in a total of eight Ballon d’Or wins by six different players. Pavel Nedved, who triumphed in 2003, is the most recent recipient to represent Juventus. Michel Platini leads the pack with three awards, making him the club’s most prolific winner.

Real Madrid (12)

Real Madrid, the club known as Los Blancos, is synonymous with success. They have conquered La Liga 34 times and secured the UEFA Champions League an unprecedented 13 times. When it comes to Ballon d’Or winners, Real Madrid has also had its fair share of glory. Cristiano Ronaldo clinched the award four times while donning the famous white jersey. Alfredo Di Stéfano earned the honour twice, and more recently, Karim Benzema received the accolade in 2022. With a total of 12 Ballon d’Or victories, Real Madrid is a powerhouse both domestically and on the global stage.

Barcelona (12)

Barcelona, the arch-rivals of Real Madrid, boasts an impressive tally of 12 Ballon d’Or trophies. Leading the charge is the legendary Lionel Messi, who has clinched the award an astounding six times. Messi’s incredible talent and consistency have left an indelible mark on football history. Joining him in the annals of Ballon d’Or winners for Barcelona are Johan Cruyff (2 times), Luis Suárez (1960), Hristo Stoichkov (1994), Rivaldo (1999), and Ronaldinho (2005). The Catalan club’s rich history of producing Ballon d’Or recipients cements its place at the top of this list.