• News

‘We deserved to win’ – Ancelotti questions disallowed Real Madrid goal in Clasico

Carlo Ancelotti at Real Madrid
© Ace Football

The reigning LaLiga champions had a decisive goal ruled out in their Clasico loss to Barcelona.

Real Madrid manager Carlo Ancelotti has questioned the referee’s decision to disallow Marco Asensio’s goal against Barcelona.

In Sunday’s Clasico, Asensio came off the bench to snatch an apparent 81st-minute winner. He converted a Dani Carvajal cross to put Real Madrid 2-1 up. However, following a lengthy VAR review, the referee, Ricardo De Burgos, ruled the goal out, deeming the Spain international to be offside.

11 minutes later, Franck Kessie snatched an injury-time goal to seal Barcelona a 2-1 win at Camp Nou.

“You have to accept [the decision],” Ancelotti told Movistar after the match.

“But I’m left with doubt. Surely there is nothing. We have the right to have that doubt. We played a good game, we deserved to win. It was won. Then there is the question of this goal that was disallowed.

“We tried everything at the end, we lost a bit of balance and they scored. The game was very good, we leave with the confidence that we can finish the season well.”

Sunday’s Clasico loss leaves Real Madrid 12 points behind runaway LaLiga leaders Barcelona in second place, with 12 games remaining. They will next face Real Valladolid at home on April 2 after the international break.