• Top lists

Top 10 Players With The Most Ballon d’Or Awards

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi
© Ace Football

Discover the legends of football as we count down the top 10 players with the most Ballon d’Or awards in history.

The Ballon d’Or is an award for the best football players in the world. It has been given to a small group of players who are very skilled and talented. In this countdown, we will look at the top 10 players who have won the Ballon d’Or the most times. We will celebrate their contributions to the sport and the memorable moments that made them famous. Join us as we honor these football icons, starting with number 10 and going up to the best player.

10. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (2 Awards)

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, the tenth on our list, is a name that resonates with German football excellence. With two Ballon d’Or awards to his name, he stood out as a true force on the pitch during the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Known for his impressive dribbling, excellent goal-scoring ability, and adaptability, Rummenigge played a crucial role in both the national team and Bayern Munich. He continues to be an influential figure in Bayern Munich even today. His contributions to the sport helped raise the profile of German football worldwide. His Ballon d’Or awards are proof of his lasting impact on the game.

9. Kevin Keegan (2 Awards)

At number nine, we have Kevin Keegan, a dynamic English footballer. He won two Ballon d’Or awards for his exceptional talent and contributions.

Keegan was a key player in English football during the late 1970s, known for his determination, versatility, and hard work. He won the Ballon d’Or in 1978 and 1979, showing his consistency and leadership both on and off the field. His performances for Liverpool and the English national team made him an icon of his era.

8. Alfredo Di Stéfano (2 Awards)

At number eight on our list is the legendary Alfredo Di Stéfano, who is closely associated with Real Madrid’s golden era. Di Stéfano is widely regarded as one of the best football players ever. He won the prestigious Ballon d’Or award twice, in 1957 and 1959.

Di Stéfano’s versatility and exceptional leadership qualities made him an iconic figure in the sport’s history. He was a true genius on the pitch, able to play in different positions, which made him stand out from others. His contributions were crucial to Real Madrid’s dominance in the 1950s and 1960s. They helped the club win five consecutive European Cup titles.

7. Ronaldo Nazario (2 Awards)

The Brazilian phenomenon, Ronaldo Nazario, is seventh. With two Ballon d’Or awards to his name (in 1997 and 2002), he left an indelible mark on the world of football. Ronaldo was a goal-scoring machine with incredible speed, agility, and skill. His remarkable ability to find the back of the net made him a fan favorite and a feared striker for defenders around the globe.

Ronaldo shined for the Brazilian national team, particularly during the triumphant 2002 World Cup campaign. Injuries may have marred his career, but he still stands as one of the greatest forwards in football history.

6. Franz Beckenbauer (2 Awards)

In the sixth position, we find the incomparable Franz Beckenbauer, affectionately known as “Der Kaiser” (The Emperor). Beckenbauer won two Ballon d’Or awards in 1972 and 1976, showing how he was one of the best defenders in football history. He had a special talent to stop attacks from the other team and start his own with his incredible vision and passing skills.

Beckenbauer was versatile, playing as a sweeper and midfielder. His leadership was crucial for West Germany’s victory in the 1974 World Cup, and he became an iconic figure in the sport.

5. Marco van Basten (3 Awards)

Fifth on our list is the Dutch maestro Marco van Basten, a footballing virtuoso who won three Ballon d’Or awards. Van Basten, a graceful and deadly striker, was a master of the beautiful game in the late 1980s and early 1990s. His technical brilliance, precise finishing, and remarkable knack for scoring from seemingly impossible positions made him an icon.

Van Basten’s accomplishments with AC Milan and the Dutch national team, especially during the 1988 European Championship, are legendary. His impact spans generations, and his legacy as one of the greatest forwards in history continues to inspire football enthusiasts worldwide.

4. Johan Cruyff (3 Awards)

Johan Cruyff was an influential football player who won three Ballon d’Or awards. These came in 1971, 1973, and 1974. He was known for his innovative style of play, mesmerizing fans and opponents with his exceptional dribbling, precise passing, and breathtaking creativity.

Cruyff’s impact went beyond his playing days. The Dutchman later became a respected manager and spread his footballing philosophy at clubs like Ajax and Barcelona. He is still remembered as a symbol of the Dutch football renaissance in the 1970s. His impact continues to inspire future generations.

3. Michel Platini (3 Awards)

Michel Platini was known for his exceptional skills and artistry on the pitch. The French midfielder won the Ballon d’Or award three times in 1983, 1984, and 1985. He was a great player, famous for his vision, accuracy in passing, and ability to score goals.

Platini played a crucial role in the French national team and was a linchpin for Juventus. He changed the way playmaking was done in football with his creativity and elegance.

2. Cristiano Ronaldo (5 Awards)

Securing the second spot is the one and only Cristiano Ronaldo. This modern football icon has won five Ballon d’Or awards (in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2017). Ronaldo’s career has been amazing. He has exceptional athleticism, versatility, and goal-scoring ability, and he has set new standards for excellence in the sport.

Ronaldo’s hard work and dedication have made him extremely successful. Not only with clubs like Manchester United, Real Madrid, and Juventus, but also with the Portuguese national team. He has won everything at club level in Europe and is the all-time leading scorer in football.

1. Lionel Messi (8 Awards)

At the top of our list stands Lionel Messi. This footballing genius has an astonishing eight Ballon d’Or awards (in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021, and 2023). His journey is a mesmerizing tale of incredible dribbling, breathtaking goals, and unwavering consistency.

Starting from Barcelona to Paris Saint-Germain, and now Inter Miami, Messi has been the driving force behind each team. Beyond the numbers, it’s the enchantment he brings to the pitch and the countless cherished moments etched in the hearts of fans worldwide.