• News

Thierry Henry names his six picks for the Premier League Hall of Fame

Thierry Henry
Getty Images

The Arsenal legend named the six players who should join him and Alan Shearer in the Premier League Hall of Fame next.

Dennis Bergkamp, Patrick Viera, Paul Scholes, Frank Lampard, Roy Keane, and Eric Cantona are Thierry Henry’s picks as the next six players to be inducted into the Premier League’s Hall of Fame.

Henry joined Newcastle United icon Alan Shearer as the first two inductees to the Premier League Hall of Fame last week.

The English league has since put together a 23-man shortlist of former players for fans to vote on who the next six inductees should be.

And for Henry, former Arsenal teammate Bergkamp was his first pick.

“Dennis, obviously I could be biased but this guy was an example for me, always wanted to do more, first in training, last in training doing what he was always being asked to do, passionate about arsenal, passionate about the Premier League,” Henry told Sky Sports.

“He made the team better, he made the guys around him better and I always said I don’t know how many guys would have the passion that he had.

“I mention a story about him – one year I remember Arsene [Wenger] was signing players. One year, I remember he came back without a contract, did the whole preseason without a contract. working hard. put his foot in, made every friendly game.”

The Frenchman also reserved special praise for Manchester United legend and compatriot Cantona.

“He was very French, wasn’t he? The collar up, his goals, his attitude, the way he scored goals – it was like ‘yeah I’ve scored them, so what?’,” said Henry.

“For us (in France), it was the beginning of everything. I’m not saying we didn’t know much about the PL, but it wasn’t well televised.

“When he went there, we started to think ‘wow, what a league’. Fans, atmosphere, Cantona.

“A French guy that goes and plays for Manchester United and your nickname is The King, when you know the history of the club? I was like, ‘wow, I want some of that’.”

The 23-man shortlist of inductees

Tony Adams, David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Sol Campbell, Eric Cantona, Andy Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Dorgba, Les Ferdinand, Rio Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Matt Le Tissier, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Robin van Persie, Nemanja Vidic, Patrick Vieira and Ian Wright.