• News

The 8 nominees for Premier League Player of the Year revealed

Premier League
Getty Images

Chelsea, Manchester City, Liverpool, and Manchester United stars all made the eight-man shortlist for the Premier League Player of the Year award.

The Premier League has announced the eight players shortlisted for the 2020/21 Player of the Year award.

In a shortlist that has seven different clubs represented, Premier League champions Manchester City boast two nominees in midfielder Kevin De Bruyne and defender Ruben Dias.

Bruno Fernandes, meanwhile, made the cut after leading Manchester United to a second-place finish. The Portuguese ace finished his first full campaign with an impressive 18 goals and 11 assists in 37 games.

After winning the Golden Boot and Playmaker of the Year awards, Harry Kane is also shortlisted. Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah and Chelsea midfielder Mason Mount, who won a first Champions League title on Saturday, join the Tottenham striker.

Midfield duo Tomas Soucek (West Ham) and Jack Grealish (Aston Villa) round-off the list of nominees.

Eight-man shortlist for PL Player of the Year

– Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
– Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
– Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
– Jack Grealish (Aston Villa)
– Harry Kane (Tottenham)
– Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
– Mason Mount (Chelsea)
– Tomas Soucek (West Ham)

Fans will have until Thursday 3 June at 19:00 (CET) to vote their Premier League Player of the Year on the EA SPORTS website.

These votes will be combined with those of the 20 club captains and football experts for the final result.