• News

Spain: Sergio Ramos and Ansu Fati dropped from La Roja squad

Sergio Ramos - PSG
Getty Images

Luis Enrique has announced his newest Spain squad for the upcoming Nations League clashes.

Luis Enrique has decided to keep Sergio Ramos and Ansu Fati out of his new 23-man list for Spain.

Real Betis’ Borja Iglesias and Athletic Bilbao’s Nico Williams have received their first Spain call-ups. However, Enrique has decided against inviting Iago Aspas despite his brilliant form in recent weeks.

Spain will play their last friendly games before the upcoming World Cup later this month. 

The latest snub doesn’t mean Ramos won’t have a chance to play in the upcoming tournament. Enrique is yet to choose a regular centre-back pair from Inigo Martinez, Pau Torres, Diego Llorente, and Eric Garcia.

Speaking about Aspas and Ramos, Enrique said on Friday: “These players have been in the national team. They can return to the national team without any doubt.”

Fati is yet to re-establish himself as a starter under Xavi Hernandez this season. However, he has managed to register two goals and two assist in his 120 minutes of playing time for Barca.

“Hopefully we will see the best Ansu again, but today I don’t see him on the list,” Enrique added.

“He is in the process of gaining confidence and improving after not playing for a long time.”

Go further with the #1 trusted leader in VPN

Spain squad in full

Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao), Robert Sanchez (Brighton and Hove Albion), David Raya (Brentford); Pau Torres (Villarreal), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Jose Gaya (Valencia), Hugo Guillamon (Valencia), Diego Llorente (Leeds United), Eric Garcia (Barcelona), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid); Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodri (Manchester City), Pedri (Barcelona), Koke, Gavi (Barcelona), Carlos Soler (Paris Saint-Germain), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid); Pablo Sarabia (Paris Saint-Germain), Nico Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), Borja Iglesias (Real Betis), Yeremy Pino (Villarreal), Ferran Torres (Barcelona).