• News

Sergio Aguero believes seven clubs can win the Premier League this season

Sergio Aguero
© World Poker Tour

The five-time Premier League winner has named seven clubs that can still win the title, almost halfway into the current campaign.

Manchester City, Liverpool, Arsenal, Aston Villa, Tottenham, Newcastle, and Manchester United are in the Premier League title race, according to Sergio Aguero.

Manchester City’s quest for a fourth consecutive title has started poorly. A run of one win in their last six matches has caused Pep Guardiola’s side to drop down to fourth in the standings. They are currently five points behind leaders Arsenal.

Liverpool and Aston Villa are also above City in the table, but Aguero thinks there are even more threats around.

“Arsenal maintained their killer performance [from last season]. Liverpool recovered their potential and teams like Aston Villa are in the race,” Aguero told Stake.com of the competition City face to defend their title.

“Besides them, I’d add Tottenham.

“Tottenham has improved a lot; Newcastle, always putting up a fight even with ups and downs; and United, which you should never sleep on.”

Aguero won the Premier League five times during his 10-year stay at City between 2011 and 2021. He is the English league’s highest-scoring foreign player, with a record of 184 goals in 275 games.