• News

Puskas Award 2021: Watch the 3 finalists

Getty Images

FIFA has announced the shortlist for the Puskas award as three spectacular goals made it into the final round.

Last year, Son Heung-Min’s stunning solo goal against Burnley won the Puskas award. The prestigious award now has three new finalists for its 2021 edition.

A panel of footballing legends and fans will select the final winner. FIFA will announce the winner at the FIFA Best Awards on January 17.

Let’s take a look at the three finalists.

3. Mehdi Taremi vs Chelsea

Taremi scored a spectacular overhead kick in the final minutes of his side’s Champions League game against Chelsea last season. The effort won the Champions League’s Goal of the Season by securing nearly 30% of the votes.

The Iranian forward’s strike secured a 1-0 win for Porto in the second leg of their quarter-final battle against Chelsea. However, it was not enough to stop the Blues from qualifying with a 2-1 victory on aggregate. 

2. Patrick Schick vs Scotland

Schick was arguably among the best players of the Euro 2020. The Czech star scored 5 goals in the tournament, with a crazy halfway line goal marking his incredible campaign. 

Following a quick counter-attack, Schick fired an unstoppable strike to complete his brace in the 52nd minute. UEFA selected Schick’s effort as the Goal of the Tournament.

1. Erik Lamela vs Arsenal

Unlike the first two goals, Lamela’s goal did not hit the back of the net with great power. However, an unexpected ‘Rabona’ technique certainly makes the derby goal a deserved candidate.

Tottenham lost the derby 2-1, but Lamela’s brilliant shot won the Premier League’s Goal of the Season award.