• Top news

Premier League inducts six more legends into Hall of Fame

Premier League
Getty Images

Six more icons have made the cut to bring the total list of members up to 16.

The Premier League has inducted Ian Wright, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany, and Sergio Aguero into the Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame honors the very best players in Premier League era. Inductees are recognized as true greats of English football. They receive a personalized medal engraved with their induction year, and a £10,000 donation in their name to a charity of their choice. Since 2021, 16 retired legends have made the list so far.

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame, players have to be retired by January 1, 2022.

Manchester United’s record goalscorer Wayne Rooney and Arsenal’s legendary former captain Patrick Vieira were the first two inductees of 2022.

Now the following six legends have been added to the Hall of Fame, as determined by an online fan vote and the Premier League Awards Panel.

Ian Wright (Arsenal, West Ham)

“You have to remember that for the majority of my football journey, I never thought I’d become a professional footballer. So to do that, enjoy the times I had with the fans and my teammates and now to receive this accolade, is a true honor. I feel really humbled.”

Peter Schmeichel (Man Utd, Aston Villa, Man City)

“I understood straight away that your career is only for a very short period of time. You have to make the best of that opportunity and make sure you’re someone who is remembered because you did something.”

Paul Scholes (Man United)

“I played for the best manager for 20 years at Manchester United; the biggest club in the world with the greatest fans. I feel lucky and privileged I was part of a team that won so many trophies and to have won the Premier League 11 times.”

Didier Drogba (Chelsea)

“I played with fantastic players for some amazing managers and against brilliant opponents. I’m so happy to say that I won the Premier League four times – and now I’m in the Hall of Fame with some of those great players I played alongside and against, which makes me very proud.”

Vincent Kompany (Manchester City)

“I feel that I found a home at Manchester City and in the Premier League. I came to love the club and I think the biggest achievement of my career was to be a part of such an incredible journey, where we progressed from a side without high expectations to become a dominant force and champions four times.”

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)

“I just loved playing football here with Manchester City and the memories of winning the Premier League five times, including the most important goal of my career to win that first one. I miss my teammates and the fans a lot still now.”

Who is in the Premier League Hall of Fame?

Below is the full list of 16 members of the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Alan ShearerBlackburn Rovers, Newcastle2021
Thierry HenryArsenal2021
Eric CantonaLeeds, Man United2021
Roy KeaneNottingham Forest, Man United2021
Frank LampardWest Ham, Chelsea, Man City2021
Dennis BergkampArsenal2021
David BeckhamMan United2021
Steven GerrardLiverpool2021
Wayne RooneyEverton, Man United2022
Patrick VieiraArsenal, Man City2022
Ian WrightArsenal, West Ham2022
Peter SchmeichelMan United, Aston Villa, Man City2022
Paul ScholesMan United2022
Didier DrogbaChelsea2022
Vincent KompanyMan City2022
Sergio AgueroMan City2022