• Top News

Pedri wins Golden Boy award for 2021 with record points margin

Getty Images

The FC Barcelona and Spain midfielder has won the award handed out to the best Under-21 player of a calendar year.

Italian outlet Tuttosport has announced Pedri as the winner of the 2021 Golden Boy award.

The 18-year-old was sensational for club and country in 2021. He not only broke into the Barcelona first-team in his debut campaign, but he also became indispensable for the Catalan giants. His efforts led to a Copa del Rey title and a maiden call-up to the Spanish national team.

Pedri’s profile grew again in the summer as he helped Spain reach the Euro 2020 semi-finals. He won the Young Player of the Tournament award and later added an Olympic Gold medal to his haul.

He now succeeds Erling Haaland as the 19th Golden Boy winner after finishing a record 199 points ahead of second-place England star Jude Bellingham in the voting polls.

‘It is a deserved triumph’

“I am pleased to report that the Barcelona midfielder and Spanish National Pedri has won the nineteenth edition of our international trophy which elects the best under 21 in the world registered for a European club in a top division,” said Tuttosport director Xavier Jacobelli.

“It is a deserved triumph. The Canarian boy, who succeeds the Norwegian Erling Haaland, has beaten the competition by some distance.

“Of the forty journalists who vote, representing the most illustrious newspapers of our continent, 24 placed him in first place of their preferences, another nine in second position and three in third.”

Pedri reacts to Golden Boy award

The Spaniard added: “I thank Tuttosport for this trophy, which makes me proud. Thanks also to all the members of the jury and the fans who have always supported me in this simply incredible 2021 for me.

“And of course, many thanks to Barca, the national team, my family, my friends, and obviously to all those who have been close to me day after day. Without them, I would not have been able to win the Golden Boy award.”

List of past Golden Boy winners

Pedri has become the second Barcelona player to win the Golden Boy award after an 18-year-old Lionel Messi won it in 2005.

Rafael van der VaartAjaxNetherlands2003
Wayne RooneyManchester UnitedEngland2004
Lionel MessiBarcelonaArgentina2005
Cesc FàbregasArsenalSpain2006
Sergio AgueroAtletico MadridArgentina2007
AndersonManchester UnitedBrazil2008
Alexandre PatoAC MilanBrazil2009
Mario BalotelliManchester CityItaly2010
Mario GotzeBorussia DortmundGermany2011
Paul PogbaJuventusFrance2013
Raheem SterlingLiverpoolEngland2014
Anthony MartialManchester UnitedFrance2015
Renato SanchesBayern MunichPortugal2016
Kylian MbappePSGFrance2017
Matthijs de LigtAjaxNetherlands2018
Joao FelixAtletico MadridPortugal2019
Erling HaalandBorussia DortmundNorway2020
PedriFC BarcelonaSpain2021