• News

Official: PFA announces Player of the Year shortlist

Getty Images

The end of the season ceremony will take place next week, with PFA announcing nominees for several prizes.

Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) have announced their picks for the Player of the Year shortlist.

The 2021-22 Premier League campaign saw Manchester City beat Liverpool in a close title to claim the title. The Reds, on the other hand, clinched the FA Cup and the Carabao Cup while reaching the Champions League final.

Kevin De Bruyne, who won the Premier League Player of the Season award earlier this month, is nominated for the PFA award.

Cristiano Ronaldo, who became Manchester United’s top-scorer in his first season after returning to the club, is also back in the running for the prize.

From Liverpool, Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, and Virgil Van Dijk are in the final shortlist, while Harry Kane is the only nominee from Tottenham.

Ronaldo and De Bruyne are among an elite group of players who have won the award twice. The two stars have the chance to make history by claiming the award next week.

All you need in a VPN — and more

PFA nominees for the Young Player of the Year

Manchester City star Phil Foden is the favourite for the Young Player of the Year award. 

Crystal Palace’s Conor Gallagher, Chelsea’s Reece James, and Jacob Ramsey of Aston Villa are also competing for the prize.

Foden’s closest rivals are Bukayo Saka and Emile Smith-Rowe, who delivered incredible performances for Arsenal last season.

The 49th edition of the PFA Awards will take place on June 9 at 7 pm UK time.