• News

Neville & Carragher name their Premier League Team of the Year

Gary Neville, Jamie Carragher, Premier League
Getty Images

As part of an end-of-season awards show, Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher picked their Premier League Team of the Year.

Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher each picked their own best XI’s of the 2020/21 Premier League campaign as the season draws to a close.

With only three games left, the Premier League legends were tasked with choosing their best XI. Only six of the same players in Harry Kane, Bruno Fernandes, Kevin De Bruyne, Phil Foden, Luke Shaw, and Ruben Dias made the cut in both line-ups.

Neville’s XI

Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy got the nod as Neville’s goalkeeper. The former Manchester United captain also selected current Red Devils skipper Harry Maguire and Manchester City’s Kyle Walker in defense.

Another United star Marcus Rashford also made the cut out of the left, while City’s Ilkay Gundogan got a spot in central midfield.

Carragher’s XI

While Neville picked Mendy, Carragher chose Aston Villa star Emiliano Martinez as his goalkeeper.

West Ham full-back Vladimir Coufal and Manchester City center-back John Stones, meanwhile, got the nod in the former Liverpool defender’s backline.

Carragher also selected Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante as his holding midfielder and picked Tottenham’s Heung-Min Son over Rashford.