• Analysis

Manchester City could equal 2 Liverpool records in EFL Cup final

Manchester City, Pep Guardiola
Getty Images

Sunday’s EFL Cup final offers Manchester City a chance to win their first title of the season and make more history.

Manchester City could equal two Liverpool records by winning the EFL Cup final later on Sunday evening.

The Citizens will face Tottenham at Wembley for a fourth consecutive appearance in the final, something which only Liverpool have achieved before now, in search of a first piece of silverware for the season.

If triumphant, City will equal Liverpool for a joint-record eight EFL Cup titles.

They would also match the Reds’ record of four consecutive EFL Cup triumphs between 1981 and 1984, having already won the competition each time since the 2017/18 season.

Top 5 clubs with the most EFL Cup titles

ClubTitlesYears won
Liverpool81981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003, 2012
Manchester City71970, 1976, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2019, 2020
Aston Villa51961, 1975, 1977, 1994, 1996
Manchester United51992, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2017
Chelsea51965, 1998, 2005, 2007, 2015

Guardiola chasing his 30th trophy

Pep Guardiola, meanwhile, could become the first manager in English football history to win the EFL Cup in four consecutive seasons.

While Liverpool won the competition four times in a row in the early 80s, they did so under two different managers in Bob Paisley (1980-1983) and Joe Fagan (1984).

Another victory at Wembley would also seal Guardiola a ninth trophy at Manchester City and a 30th for his illustrious managerial career. And given the club’s formidable form this season, more titles are likely to follow.

The former Barcelona and Bayern Munich boss has a formidable record in the EFL Cup. Only two defeats, including one last-16 exit in 2016/17 and a second leg semi-final loss last season, have come his way in 24 matches.

One last thing worth pointing out is that Guardiola has won 13 of his previous 14 finals and conceded just five goals.