• News

Man City vs Liverpool: Confirmed lineups as Gundogan and Mahrez start on bench

Riyad Mahrez, Manchester City
Getty Images

The Citizens will lock horns with Liverpool in a title-deciding battle at Etihad Stadium.

Manchester City will host Liverpool in a crunch Premier League battle on Sunday. The Citizens hope to keep their place at the top of the league table while Liverpool have the best chance to leapfrog their title-rivals with a victory.

Jurgen Klopp has made three changes to the team that defeated Benfica 3-1 on Tuesday. Joel Matip starts ahead of Ibrahima Konate, while Jordan Henderson replaces Naby Keita. Diego Jota has also returned to Liverpool’s starting Xi, playing alongside Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah upfront. 

Go further with the #1 trusted leader in VPN

Manchester City vs Liverpool: Confirmed lineups

Here are the two side’s starting lineups for the game.

Man City XI: Ederson, Walker, Stones, Laporte, Canelo, Rodri, Bernardo, De Bruyne, Jesus, Foden, Sterling.

Liverpool XI: Alisson, Alexander-Arnold, Matip, Van Dijk, Robertson, Fabinho, Henderson, Thiago, Salah, Jota, Mane.

Manchester City starts the game with two surprise absentees from their lineup. Ilkay Gundogan and Riyad Mahrez are on the bench, with Phil Foden and Gabriel Jesus taking their places in the starting XI. Another change in Pep Guardiola’s team is the return of Kyle Walker to the right-hand side of City’s defence while Nathan Ake starts the game on the bench. 

Check out our exclusive betting tip for the game here!