• Match review

Liverpool 1-0 Napoli: Player Ratings as Reds return to winning ways at Anfield

Mohamed Salah at Liverpool
Getty Images

Liverpool still qualified as the second team despite beating Group leaders Napoli.

Liverpool defeated Napoli 2-0 in their Champions League game on Tuesday. Late goals from Mohamed Salah and Darwin Nunez secured a much-needed morale boost for the Reds.

Salah is the UCL top scorer!

Napoli came into the game after winning all of their previous Champions League matches. But the Reds made sure to limit their attacking options from early on.

Not much happened during the first half, with both sides having one chance each. But the Reds doubled down on their attacks as soon as the second half started.

Napoli thought they had an opener through Leo Ostigard, but the referee ruled it out after a quick VAR check. The Reds then increased the pressure on the guests’ backline, finally breaking the deadlock through Salah in the 85th minute.

Go further with the #1 trusted leader in VPN

Alex Meret saved a powerful header from Nunez, but couldn’t prevent Salah from smashing the rebound into the back of the net. It was the Egypt international’s seventh UCL goal of the season, which puts him at the top of the tournament’s goalscoring charts.

Liverpool then scored a very similar goal to double their lead just before the full-time whistle. This time, Virgil van Dijk headed the ball first, and Nunez converted the rebound.

Despite the victory, Liverpool qualified behind Napoli as Group A’s second team. Elsewhere in the group, Ajax qualified for the Europa League after beating Rangers 3-1.

Player Ratings

Liverpool: Alisson (7), Alexander-Arnold (6), Konaté (6), Van Dijk (7), Tsimikas (7), Milner (6), Fabinho (6), Thiago (7), Salah (8), Firmino (6), Jones (6).

Bench: Ramsay (6), Bajcetic (7), Elliott (7), Carvalho (6), Nunez (7).

Napoli: Meret (6), Di Lorenzo (6), Ostigard (6), Kim (5), Olivera (7), Ndombélé (6), Lobotka (7), Anguissa (7), Politano (7), Osimhen (6), Kvaratskhelia (7).

Bench: Zielinksi (6), Elmas (6), Raspadori (7), Lozano (6), Simeone (6).