• Top news

Lewandowski crowned Germany’s Footballer of the Year

Robert Lewandowski
Getty Images

After another prolific campaign in front of goal, Robert Lewandowski has won Germany’s Footballer of the Year award again.

Robert Lewandowski fended off competition from Thomas Muller and Erling Haaland to win Germany’s Footballer of the Year for the second time in a row.

The Polish striker fired Bayern Munich to a ninth consecutive Bundesliga title in 2020/21. He broke Gerd Muller’s 49-year-old scoring record of 40 goals in one league season by doing one better. His incredible haul of 41 goals also won him a sixth top-scorer award in the German top-flight.

These impressive feats paved the way for another Footballer of the Year award in Germany, having previously done so in 2020.

In a voting poll conducted by the Association of German Sports Journalists and Kicker, 356 of the 563 journalists voted Lewandowski as the nation’s Footballer of the Year. Bayern teammate Thomas Muller was 315 votes behind in second. Borussia Dortmund striker Erling Haaland, meanwhile, came third but 318 votes off top spot.

“I know how big this honor is,” said Lewandowski. “For me, it is a reason for great pride and joy, because you rarely win the title of ‘Footballer of the Year’ twice in a row in Germany.”

The 32-year-old scored 48 goals in 40 matches across all competitions last season for Bayern. He also scored three goals in as many games for Poland in Euro 2020 this summer.

Women’s Footballer of the Year in Germany

Nicole Billa became the second foreign player to win the women’s Footballer of the Year on Sunday after Pernille Harder did so in 2020.

The Hoffenheim striker scored a brilliant 23 goals in 21 Bundesliga games to finish as the top scorer and help the club reach the Champions League. She just edged Bayern Munich’s Lea Schuller by four points. Wolfsburg goalkeeper Almuth Schult completed the top three in the women’s edition.