• News

FIFA The Best: Full List of Men’s Award Winners

Erling Haaland, Lionel Messi
© Ace Football

Check out a comprehensive list of the winners of the men’s awards in FIFA The Best ceremony.

Lionel Messi claimed the FIFA The Best Men’s award for the third time in his career on Monday evening.

Voters for the award included journalists, fans, national team captains, and managers. They judged each player’s performances and achievements from December 19, 2022, to August 20, 2023. This meant voting was based on the period after the 2022 World Cup final.

As such, Messi won the men’s award based on his exploits at Paris Saint-Germain and Inter Miami. The 36-year-old chipped in nine goals and six assists for PSG, helping the club to win Ligue 1. He also fired home 11 goals and five assists in a mere 14 games to help Inter Miami win the first Leagues Cup in the United States.

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland came in second place, tying with Messi on 48 points. However, Messi won the prize because he had more first-choice nominations from national team captains.

Messi’s former PSG teammate Kylian Mbappe finished third in the voting panel with 35 points.

🥇 Full list of men’s awards

  • Puskás Award: Guilherme Madruga (Botafogo-SP)
  • FIFA Fair Play Award: Brazil
  • FIFA Fan Award: Hugo Miguel Iñiguez
  • Men’s Coach of the Year: Pep Guardiola
  • Men’s Goalkeeper of the Year: Éderson (Man City)

🌍 Men’s World XI

  • Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Defence: John Stones (Man City), Kyle Walker (Man City), Rúben Dias (Man City)
  • Midfielders: Bernardo Silva (Man City), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
  • Forwards: Erling Haaland (Man City), Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Lionel Messi (Inter Miami), Vinícius Júnior (Real Madrid)