• Top lists

Europa League Royalty: Which Teams Have Won The Most Titles?

Europa League Trophy & Ball
© Diego Sideburns

Explore the top Europa League champions in history with our in-depth analysis of the winning teams.

The Europa League is a prestigious European football competition. It may only be the next prize after the Champions League in the eyes of many, but this tournament has seen many memorable moments. Numerous teams have competed for glory, but only a select few have ascended to the pinnacle of success. Here, we explore the clubs with the most Europa League titles, including the one-time winners.

The Elite Few: Teams with Multiple Europa League Titles

#1 Sevilla – 7 Titles (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2020, 2023)

Sevilla FC reign supreme as the unbeatable kings of the Europa League with a remarkable seven championship titles under their belt. Their dominance in the competition is unmatched, boasting incredible victories in 2006, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2020, and 2023. This Spanish club has impressed with its unwavering strength and ability to perform under pressure, cementing a legendary team like none other.

#2 Liverpool – 3 Titles (1973, 1976, 2001)

Liverpool, one of England’s most iconic clubs, boasts an impressive record in the Europa League. The Reds have secured the title on three occasions. Their triumphs in 1973, 1976, and 2001 highlight their historical prowess in European competitions. Liverpool’s ability to rise to the occasion, led by legendary players and revered managers, has etched their name into the annals of European football history.

#3 Juventus – 3 Titles (1977, 1990, 1993)

When it comes to Italian football, Juventus are the elite of the elite. Considered to be among the best teams in Europe, the Bianconeri have consistently proven themselves to be a force to be reckoned with. They won three Europa League titles in 1977, 1990, and 1993 under its previous guise, the UEFA Cup.

#4 Inter Milan – 3 Titles (1991, 1994, 1998)

Inter Milan, one of Italy’s most storied clubs, have been formidable in Europe. Having clinched the UEFA Cup three times, in 1991, 1994, and 1998, the Black and Blues’ victories have showcased their tactical acumen and the brilliance of their players.

#5 Atletico Madrid – 3 Titles (2010, 2012, 2018)

Atletico Madrid are renowned for their resilience and tenacity. The Spanish giants have enjoyed tremendous success in the Europa League. With three titles to their credit, earned in 2010, 2012, and 2018, these victories epitomize their unique style of play and unyielding spirit.

The Pursuers: Teams To Have Won Two Europa League Titles

While some teams enjoy their moment in the spotlight, there are others who have achieved victory not just once, but twice. Let’s take a closer look at these determined contenders who are poised to become part of the exclusive elite.

  • Parma (1995 & 1998)
  • Chelsea (2013 & 2019)
  • Borussia Mönchengladbach (1975 & 1979)
  • Feyenoord (1974 & 2002)
  • Eintracht Frankfurt (1980 & 2022)
  • IFK Göteborg (1982 & 1987)
  • FC Porto (2003 & 2011)
  • Real Madrid (1985 & 1986)
  • Tottenham (1972 & 1984)

The Rest: Which Teams Have Won One Europa League Title?

These teams may have won the Europa League title only once, but their impact on the competition is still noteworthy. Below is the full list of one-time winners.

  • Villarreal (2021)
  • Ipswich Town (1981)
  • Schalke 04 (1997)
  • CSKA Moscow (2005)
  • Zenit (2008)
  • Shakhtar Donetsk (2009)
  • Manchester United (2017)
  • Valencia (2004)
  • Ajax (1992)
  • Napoli (1989)
  • Bayer Leverkusen (1988)
  • Anderlecht (1983)
  • Galatasaray (2000)
  • PSV Eindhoven (1978)
  • Bayern Munich (1996)

Europa League Trophy & Ball” by Diego Sideburns is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0.