• Featured

Euro Championships Winners Through the Decades (1960-2024)

euro 2024

The UEFA European Championship, commonly referred to as the Euros, stands as one of the most prestigious tournaments in international football.

Since its inception in 1960, the competition has showcased the best talents from across Europe, providing unforgettable moments of skill, passion, and drama. As we look back through the decades, we reflect on the teams that have etched their names into footballing history by lifting the coveted trophy.

1960: Soviet Union

The inaugural UEFA European Championship took place in 1960, with the Soviet Union emerging victorious. In a thrilling final held in Paris, the Soviets defeated Yugoslavia 2-1 to claim their place in footballing history.

1964: Spain

Spain made their mark on the international stage by winning the second edition of the Euros in 1964. Hosted in Spain, the tournament culminated in a 2-1 victory over the Soviet Union in the final, with Marcelino García and Jesús María Pereda scoring the decisive goals.

1968: Italy

Italy clinched their first European Championship title in 1968, showcasing their trademark defensive prowess en route to glory. In a tense final against Yugoslavia, Italy triumphed in a dramatic replay, winning 2-0 after the initial match ended in a 1-1 draw.

1972: West Germany

West Germany asserted their dominance in European football by claiming victory in the 1972 Euros. Led by legendary goalkeeper Sepp Maier and prolific striker Gerd Müller, West Germany defeated the Soviet Union 3-0 in the final to secure their first-ever European Championship.

1976: Czechoslovakia

Czechoslovakia stunned the footballing world by winning the 1976 European Championship. In a memorable final against West Germany, the underdogs triumphed in a dramatic penalty shootout, with Antonín Panenka’s iconic chipped penalty sealing victory.

1980: West Germany

West Germany continued their success in the 1980 Euros, cementing their status as a footballing powerhouse. Led by captain Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, West Germany defeated Belgium 2-1 in the final to claim their second European Championship title.

1984: France

Hosts France delighted their fans by winning the 1984 Euros in style. Inspired by the brilliance of Michel Platini, France showcased attacking flair throughout the tournament, culminating in a 2-0 victory over Spain in the final at the Parc des Princes in Paris.

1988: Netherlands

The Netherlands captured their first and only European Championship title in 1988, producing scintillating football under the guidance of coach Rinus Michels. In a memorable final against the Soviet Union, Marco van Basten’s iconic volley secured a 2-0 victory and etched his name into footballing folklore.

1992: Denmark

Denmark’s fairy-tale triumph in the 1992 Euros remains one of the most remarkable stories in football history. Initially not even qualified, Denmark replaced war-torn Yugoslavia and defied the odds to win the tournament. In a thrilling final against Germany, Denmark emerged victorious with a 2-0 win.

1996: Germany

Germany added another European Championship title to their illustrious history in 1996. In a tightly contested final against the Czech Republic, Germany prevailed in a dramatic golden goal scenario, with Oliver Bierhoff securing a 2-1 victory at Wembley Stadium in London.

2000: France

France solidified their status as a footballing superpower by winning back-to-back European Championships in 2000. Led by captain Didier Deschamps and talisman Zinedine Zidane, France defeated Italy in the final through David Trezeguet’s golden goal in extra time.

2004: Greece

Greece stunned the footballing world by winning the 2004 Euros against all odds. Under the guidance of coach Otto Rehhagel, Greece’s disciplined defensive displays led them to victory, culminating in a memorable 1-0 win over Portugal in the final.

2008: Spain

Spain embarked on an era of dominance by winning the 2008 European Championship in Austria and Switzerland. Spearheaded by midfield maestros Xavi and Andrés Iniesta, Spain played mesmerizing possession-based football and defeated Germany 1-0 in the final.

2012: Spain

Spain continued their reign as European champions in 2012, further cementing their status as one of the greatest international teams of all time. In a masterful display of footballing artistry, Spain defeated Italy 4-0 in the final to secure their third consecutive major international trophy.

2016: Portugal

Portugal capped off an unforgettable tournament by winning the 2016 Euros in France. Led by captain Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal overcame the odds to defeat hosts France 1-0 in the final, with Éder scoring the decisive goal in extra time.

2020: Italy

Italy triumphed in the delayed Euro 2020 tournament, showcasing resilience, teamwork, and tactical astuteness throughout the competition. In a thrilling final at Wembley Stadium, Italy defeated England in a penalty shootout to claim their second European Championship title.

2024: ?

France, Belgium, England, Portugal, Germany, Italy, and Spain emerge as favourites for the 2024 UEFA European Championship. Reigning World Cup champions France boast a formidable squad led by Mbappe. Belgium’s golden generation features De Bruyne and Lukaku. England’s young talents such as Foden and Bellingham impressed in recent games. Portugal, with Ronaldo, seeks to defend their 2016 title. Hosts Germany under Nagelsmann aims for the first triumph since 1996. Italy, the defending champions, combines youth and experience. Spain’s possession-based style adds to the competitive mix. While these teams lead the pack, surprises are always possible in football’s unpredictable landscape and we are more than excited what the Euro 2024 has to offer.


The UEFA European Championship has provided football fans with decades of memorable moments, thrilling matches, and unforgettable triumphs. From underdog victories to dominant displays of footballing brilliance, each edition of the Euros has added to the rich tapestry of football history. As we eagerly await the next instalment of this prestigious tournament, we celebrate the teams and players who have left an indelible mark on the beautiful game.