• Top news

Erling Haaland wins the 2020 Golden Boy award

Erling Haaland, Borussia Dortmund
Getty Images

The Borussia Dortmund and Norway star has capped off a sensational year by winning the 2020 Golden Boy award.

Erling Haaland has won the 2020 Golden Boy award following a stunning year that saw him thrive for Borussia Dortmund in the Bundesliga and Norway on the international stage.

Italian newspaper Tuttosport, which established the accolade in 2003, announced the forward as the winner on the front page of it’s Saturday edition. He will reportedly collect the prize in Turin, Italy, on December 14.

Tuttosport, Erling Haaland, Golden Boy
Credit: Tuttosport

The Golden Boy is a prize awarded to the best young footballer in a top-tier European league under the age of 21. Several high-profile names have won it, including Lionel Messi (2005) and Kylian Mbappe (2017). Joao Felix was the last player to win the award in 2019.

The winner is determined based on the votes of sports journalists from across Europe. Voters can nominate five players using a system that awards 10 points to their winner, 7 to their runner-up, 5 to third, 3 to fourth, and a point for fifth.

Haaland, meanwhile, scored 44 goals in all competitions during the 2019/20 campaign. Not even a mid-season switch from RB Salzburg to Dortmund could deter his progress, with the 20-year-old bagging 16 goals in 18 league games.

He saw off stiff competition from Barcelona wonderkid Ansu Fati, Bayern Munich’s Alphonso Davies, and his own Dortmund teammate Jadon Sancho.