• Top News

Enrique explains Ramos snub from Spain’s Euro 2020 squad

Getty Images

Spain manager Luis Enrique has left Sergio Ramos out of the national team’s 24-man squad for this summer’s European Championship.


Sergio Ramos’ lack of game time and training are the reasons behind his absence from Spain’s 24-man squad for Euro 2020.

La Roja boss Luis Enrique admits the decision to leave out the Real Madrid and Spain captain was ‘complicated’, but he had to do what was best for the team.

It’s yet another blow to what has been a tough year for Ramos. He underwent knee surgery in February, tested positive for COVID-19 in April, and is currently sidelined with a hamstring injury.


The 35-year-old has made just one appearance since March in Real Madrid’s 2-0 Champions League second-leg defeat to Chelsea in the semi-finals.

“Ramos has not been able to compete this season, he has not been able to train with the group,” said Enrique.


“I called him last night. It was difficult and hard.

“I clearly see that it’s a complicated decision. I recommended that he be selfish and that he regains his level to play in his club and in the national team.”

Manchester City defender Aymeric Laporte, who recently switched allegiances from France, has made the squad. In fact, Enrique hasn’t included a single Real Madrid Spanish player.


The former Barcelona manager has selected Sergio Busquets, meanwhile, as captain in Ramos’ absence.

24-man squad for Euro 2020

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Atheltic Club), David de Gea (Manchester United), Robert Sanchez (Brighton).

Defenders: Jose Gaya (Valencia), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Pau Torres (Villarreal), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Eric Garcia (Manchester City), Diego Llorente (Leeds), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid).


Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodri (Manchester City), Pedri (Barcelona), Thiago (Liverpool), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Fabian Ruiz (Napoli).

Forwards: Dani Olmo (Leipzig), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Gerard Moreno (Villarreal), Ferran Torres (Manchester City), Adama Traore (Wolves), Pablo Sarabia (PSG).