• News

Copa America 2021: Host Nation, Dates, & All 10 Teams Announced

Copa America 2021: Venue, Dates, & All 10 Teams Announced
Getty Images

The 47th edition of the prestigious Copa America is set for the summer of 2021 after the tournament found a new host.

A host of interesting scenarios await as the 2021 Copa America takes place in the summer.

Eyes will be on the host nation and titleholders Brazil as the Selecao seek a 10th triumph. Argentina, meanwhile, are out to end a 28-year trophy drought in what could be Lionel Messi’s last appearance in the competition. Uruguay, Colombia, and Chile could also be a threat in the competition.

So ahead of the 47th edition of the South American tournament, Ace Football gives you the latest details.

Where will the tournament be hosted?

Original co-hosts Argentina and Colombia have pulled out due to civil unrest and COVID-19 concerns.

But the South American Football Federation, CONMEBOL, has announced 2019 tournament hosts and winners Brazil will again stage the Copa America.

CONMEBOL confirmed in a statement it has approval after the president, Alejandro Dominguez, held successful negotiations with the president of Brazil, Jair Bolsonaro, for hosting the competition.

Given the country’s struggles with COVID-19, however, the decision hasn’t been well received by its residents.

At the time of writing, CONMEBOL is yet to announce which stadiums will host games for the 2021 Copa America.

When will the 2021 Copa America take place?

After a year-long delay due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 47th Copa America will take place between June 13 and July 10 in Brazil.

Which teams will compete in Copa America 2021?

Despite their respective nations losing hosting rights, the Argentine and Colombian national teams will compete in the Copa America.

Australia and Qatar, who were invited to make guest appearances, have withdrawn due to scheduling conflicts with their 2022 Asian World Cup qualification fixtures.

Below are the 10 national teams competing in the 2021 Copa America.

Group A (South Zone)Group B (North Zone)