• Top News

Bayern star beats De Bruyne and Neuer for UEFA award

Getty Images

Bayern Munich’s leading man will take UEFA’s highest prize beating Kevin De Bruyne and Manuel Neuer at Thursday’s ceremony.

Bayern Munich prolific striker Robert Lewandowski will receive European Footballer of the Year for the 2019-20 season. According to Goal and SPOX, awards of the highest standard will be given by UEFA.

Prizes will be handed out individually on Thursday by European football’s governing body. Subsequently, all the contenders from season 2019-20 will be honored for their achievements.

The ceremony will take place after the Champions League draw in Geneva.

Bayern Munich’s dominance.

Bayern are the titleholders of the continental cup. Evidently, the Bavarian giants managed to smash every team in the last season.

Moreover, the club brought the treble to Allianz Arena. Hansi Flick’s men truly showed their winning mentality during the entire year.

Poland international Lewandowski led Bayern in the pursuit of the silverware.

The 32-year-old experienced the best season of his career. As a result, the forward netted 55 goals in 47 appearances for Bayern.

In the year 2020 alone, Lewandowski scored 26 goals already. Also, his team won the UEFA Super Cup crown earlier this month.

Consequently, everyone expected him to be the top contestant for the Ballon d’Or award. Although, France Football canceled the ceremony due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

Though, UEFA will be crowning prizes and Bayern is on the top list of honors.

Lewandowski will receive the highest award. Thus, becoming the 11th player from Bundesliga to win at UEFA.

Previously, Franck Ribery won the award on Europe’s biggest platform in 2013. He played for the German club at that time.

Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne missed the opportunity by little. The PFA Player of the Year’s addition to the list made it a tough competition.

In addition, Manuel Neuer will be receiving the Goalkeeper of the Year award at the event.

Putting the cherry on the top, Joshua Kimmich and Hansi Flick will take prizes for the Defender of the Year and the Coach of the Year, respectively.