• Match review

Bayern 2-2 Stuttgart: Player Ratings as Bavarians drop points at Allianz Arena

Joshua Kimmich at Bayern Munich
Getty Images

Bayern will return to the Champions League on the back of a frustrating league draw.

Stuttgart held Bayern Munich to a 2-2 draw in their Bundesliga clash on Saturday. The Bavarians dropped two points after conceding a late penalty on home soil.

A rotated squad?

Bayern started with a few surprise presences in their lineup.

Noussair Mazraoui started ahead of Benjamin Pavard at right-back, while Leon Goretzka returned to Bayern’s midfield to replace in-form Marcel Sabitzer.

Mathys Tel made his Bundesliga start and became the youngest-ever Bayern scorer in Bundesliga when he broke the deadlock in the 36th minute.

Bayern won the first period with Tel’s precise strike, but their opponents looked much better after halftime.

Stuttgart scored a disallowed goal before making it 1-1 through Chris Fuhrich in the 57th minute. However, Bayern bounced back quickly to restore their lead only three minutes later.

Go further with the #1 trusted leader in VPN

Jamal Musiala received Mazraoui’s short pass inside the box before making it 2-1 with a brilliant low shot. Nagelsmann made a few changes to Bayern’s lineup after the goal.

However, the Bavarians’ struggle to convert their chances eventually resulted in Stuttgart’s impressive comeback.

Following a careless challenge by Matthijs de Ligt on Serhou Guirassy, the referee awarded a 90th-minute penalty to the guests.

The Guinean forward stepped up to convert the spot-kick with a powerful shot, leaving Bayern with a point after the home game.

The Bavarians must now prepare to host Barcelona in their next Champions League game on Tuesday.

Player Ratings

Bayern Munich: Neuer (5), Mazraoui (8), Upamecano (7), De Ligt (5), Davies (6), Kimmich (7), Goretzka (7), Muller (6), Musiala (7), Gnabry (5), Tel (7).

Bench: Stanisic (6), Sane (6), Gravenberch (5), Mane (7), Choupo-Moting (6).

Stuttgart: Muller (6), Ito (6), Anton (6), Mavropanos (7), Endo (6), Sosa (6), Ahamada (5), Karazor (7), Katompa Mvumpa (5), Guirassy (7), Tomas (6).

Bench: Stenzel (6), Fuhrich (7), Millot (6), Egloff (6), Perea (6).