• Match preview

Athletic Club 0-1 R. Sociedad – Copa del Rey Player Ratings

Getty Images

La Cartuja Stadium was the place where Athletic Club and Real Sociedad played the Copa del Rey final. We got the player ratings. 

Last year’s Copa del Rey final between Athletic Club Bilbao and Real Sociedad got postponed to this Saturday due to the global pandemic. It was the first time in history we enjoyed a Basque Derby at this stage. We all witnessed an incredibly emotional football match between two historic football clubs from Spain. As it was always expected from a final and a derby, it was a deeply leveled match between these two.

The only goal of the match came after a penalty was awarded for the Donostiarra squad. Mikel Oyarzabal scored from the spot without hesitation. A goal that made history for his squad that is 34 years in the making. The 1986-87 season was the last time Real Sociedad won the Copa del Rey title and they finally did it again today. Although Athletic Club tried to get that equalizer, they weren’t able to penetrate the Donostiarras’ defensive line. 

Athletic Club has a second chance. 

Today’s Copa del Rey champion will also remain as such for the shortest time in football history due to the global pandemic. Fourteen days from now, we are getting this season’s Copa del Rey final. Despite losing tonight against their biggest rival, Athletic Club will get a second chance to win the same title in a unique scenario for them.

Two weeks from now, the Basque squad will face FC Barcelona in the final. Although they are not favorites to win this second match, they are the club that defeated the Blaugrana in the most recent Spanish Supercup. Perhaps they will go to bed with a bitter memory from tonight, but they can still dream of another trophy this season. 

Player ratings 

Athletic Club: Simon (7), Yuri (7), Martinez (5), Yeray (7), De Marcos (7), Garcia (7), Vencedor (7), Berenguer (7), Muniain (7), Williams (7), Garcia (7). 

Bench: Lopez (6), Vezga (7), Villalibre (6), Capa (6).

Real Sociedad: Remiro (7), Monreal (8), Gorosabel (7), Le Normand (7), Merino (9), Zubeldia (8), Zubimendi (7), Silva (7), Portu (7), Oyarzabal (8), Isak (7). 

Bench: Guevara (7), Fernandez (7), Barrenetxea (6), Elustondo (6). 

Feel free to make your pick on player’s ratings and performances using the widget below.