• Analysis

AFCON Top Scorers: Who is leading the race for the Golden Boot?

Vincent Aboubakar, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane
Getty Images

Ace Football presents a detailed guide of the 2021 AFCON top scorers and a list of the players who previously won the Golden Boot.

The 2021 Africa Cup of Nations final is finally here, meaning the Golden Boot winner will be declared at the end of the day.

Vincent Aboubakar has thrown down the gauntlet. The Cameroon captain has scored an incredible eight times, leaving him with a three-goal lead over teammate Karl Toko Ekambi in the AFCON top scorerโ€™s race.

The likes of Sadio Mane (Senegal), Mohamed Salah (Egypt), Andre Ayew (Ghana), Max Gradel (Ivory Coast), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria), and Sofiane Boufal (Morocco) have also found the back of the net in this year’s competition.

AFCON Top Scorers

Below is the list of players to score at least two goals in the current AFCON campaign.

1.Vincent Aboubakar๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ817
2.Karl Toko Ekambi๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ507
3.Sadio Mane๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ณ326
 Gabadinho Mhango๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ผ303
 Ibrahima Kone๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฑ304
 Sofiane Boufal๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฆ305
7.Musa Barrow๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฒ2 25
 Wahbi Khazri๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ณ214
 Nicolas Pepe๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฎ214
 Mohamed Salah๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ2 16
 Ahmed Mogni๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฒ204
 Jim Allevinah๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฆ204
 Ablie Jallow๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฒ204
 Achraf Hakimi๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฆ205

Which players have won the Golden Boot?

Below is a list of every AFCON top scorer since 1957. This list includes every player to top the goal charts, even those who finished as a joint-top scorer – like Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Ivory Coast’s Didier Drogba from 2012.

Laurent Pokou๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฎ2x1968, 1970
Roger Milla๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ2x1986, 1988
Abdoulaye Traore๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฎ2x1986, 1988
Rashidi Yekini๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ2x1992, 1994
Patrick Mboma๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ2x2002, 2004
Francileudo dos Santos๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ณ2x2004, 2006
Samuel Etoโ€™o๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ2x2006, 2008
Ad El Diba๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1957
Mahmoud Al Gohari๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1959
Mohamed Al Badawi๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1962
Worku Mengistu๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡น1x1962
Ahmed Al Chazli๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1963
Osei Kofi๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ญ1x1965
Eustace Mangli๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฎ1x1965
Salif Keita๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฑ1x1972
Mulamba Ndaye๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฉ1x1974
William Njo Lea๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ณ1x1976
Phillip Omondi๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1978
Segun Odegbami๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1980
George Al Hassan๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ญ1x1982
Taher Abou Zeid๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1984
Lakhdar Belloumi๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฟ1x1988
Gamal Abdelhamid๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1988
Djamel Menad๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฟ1x1990
Kalusha Bwalya๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ฒ1x1996
Hossam Hassan๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x1998
Benni McCarthy๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ฆ1x1998
Shaun Bartlett๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ฆ1x2000
Salomon Olembe๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ1x2002
Julius Aghahowa๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x2002
Frederic Kanoute๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฑ1x2004
Jay-Jay Okocha๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x2004
Youssef Mokhtari๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฆ1x2004
Ahmed Hassan๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x2006
Mohamed Nagui๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x2010
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฆ1x2012
Didier Drogba๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฎ1x2012
Cheick Tidiane Diabate๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฑ1x2012
Houcine Kharja๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฆ1x2012
Chris Katongo๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ฒ1x2012
Emmanuel Mayuka๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ฒ1x2012
Emmanuel Emenike๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x2013
Mubarak Wakaso๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ญ1x2013
Ahmed Akaichi๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ณ1x2015
Andre Ayew๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ญ1x2015
Dieumerci Mbokani๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฉ1x2015
Javier Balboa๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ถ1x2015
Thievy Biffouma๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x2015
Junior Kabananga๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฉ1x2017
Odion Ighalo๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ1x2019