• Top news

2023 CAF Awards: Finalists for Player of the Year revealed

Victor Osimhen
© Ace Football

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced the three finalists of the player, coach, goalkeeper, club, and national team of the year awards.

CAF has announced the top three nominees for each category of the 2023 CAF Awards.

The winners for each category are chosen based on votes from a panel. This panel includes the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals, head coaches, team captains, and clubs involved in the group stages of the Interclub competitions.

The 2023 CAF Awards ceremony will take place on Monday, December 11 at 7:00 PM (GMT+1). It will be hosted at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Below is the list of each of the finalists for the upcoming 2023 CAF awards.

Player of the Year (Men)

  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women)

  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)
  • Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)
  • Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

  • Fiston Mayele (DR Congo, Pyramids)
  • Peter Shalulile (Namibia, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

  • Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Coach of the Year (Men)

  • Abdelhak Benchika (Algeria, Simba SC)
  • Walid Regragui (Morocco)
  • Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Coach of the Year (Women)

  • Reynald Pedros (Morocco)
  • Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  • Jerry Tshabalala (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men)

  • Andre Onana (Cameroon, Manchester United)
  • Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)
  • Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

  • Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)
  • Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)
  • Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

  • Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco, Real Betis)
  • Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)
  • Amara Diouf (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women)

  • Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)
  • Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)
  • Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburgh Panthers)

National Team of the Year (Men)

  • Gambia
  • Morocco
  • Senegal

National Team of the Year (Women)

  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa

Club of the Year (Men)

  • Al Ahly (Egypt)
  • Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Women)

  • AS FAR (Morocco)
  • Sporting Casablanca (Morocco)
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)