• News

11 South American Premier League players avoid FIFA ban

Premier League
Getty Images

11 South American players can play in the Premier League this weekend after their respective nations agreed to waive the automatic five-day FIFA bans.

FIFA has confirmed the football associations of Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Paraguay have agreed to withdraw their complaints against the England-based players not reporting for international duty.

On Wednesday, FIFA invoked Article 5 to block Premier League clubs from selecting players they refused to release for the recent international break. In total, 11 players were at risk of a five-day ban.

The Brazilian Football Confederation requested FIFA to take this course of action after Premier League clubs unanimously agreed to not release players for international matches in countries on the UK Government’s red list last month.

But upon extensive talks with FIFA, the FA and the Premier League, the associations of Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Paraguay agreed to waive their right to impose an automatic five-day restriction on Friday night.

A FIFA statement read: “Based on positive signals and constructive dialogue FIFA has received from the UK government towards the international match window in October, recognising that players have no control over the extreme situation caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and sanitary restrictions currently imposed and, as a sign of good faith, goodwill and cooperation, the member associations of Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Paraguay, in close consultation with FIFA, have taken the decision to withdraw their complaints in relation to the England-based players, and players bound to play in England, who were not released for the recent international matches.”

11 players cleared for action

The following 11 South American players are now all available for selection this weekend. 

  • Alisson Becker, Fabinho, Roberto Firmino – Liverpool and Brazil.
  • Ederson and Gabriel Jesus – Manchester City and Brazil.
  • Fred – Manchester United and Brazil.
  • Thiago Silva – Chelsea and Brazil.
  • Francisco Sierralta – Watford and Chile.
  • Raphinha – Leeds United and Brazil.
  • Raul Jimenez – Wolves and Mexico.
  • Miguel Almiron – Newcastle United and Paraguay.